top of page

A message from The Principal!

Updated: Feb 21


As a new school principal, I bring to UCP Osceola Charter School over twenty years of invaluable experience in the field of education, encompassing diverse roles throughout my career. From my humble beginnings as an ESE (Exceptional Student Education) teacher to my subsequent roles as a school counselor, mental health counselor, and assistant principal in K-12 settings, I have developed a comprehensive understanding of the educational landscape and a deep passion for fostering a supportive and inclusive learning environment for all students.



My journey began as an ESE teacher, where I honed my skills in providing special education services to students with diverse needs. This experience allowed me to develop a strong sense of empathy and a commitment to individualized support, which has become the cornerstone of my educational philosophy. Inspired by my desire to impact students' overall well-being positively, I transitioned into the role of a school counselor, where I worked closely with students, parents, and teachers to promote academic, social, and emotional growth. This hands-on experience equipped me with a solid foundation for understanding students' unique challenges inside and outside the classroom.



Recognizing the significant role mental health plays in a student's overall success, I further expanded my skillset as a mental health counselor. Through this role, I provided direct support and collaborated with teachers and parents to create a robust network of resources and interventions that fostered a safe and nurturing environment. In my most recent position as an assistant principal, I drew upon my diverse background to effectively support the school's vision and mission. This experience allowed me to collaborate with staff, manage day-to-day operations, and actively contribute to enhancing the educational experience.



With my wealth of experience across various educational roles and my unwavering dedication to student success and well-being, I am fully committed to leading our school community toward excellence and fostering an environment that is inclusive, supportive, and conducive to academic growth. Let us inspire a love for learning and empower our students to thrive in their educational journey.



Sincerely,



Mr. Josh Torres

179 views0 comments
bottom of page